Home / About / Hospital / Contact / 610-431-5108  

Home > Programs and Support > Educational Classes

National Cancer Survivor's Day

Celebrate LifeThe Cancer Program of The Chester County Hospital invites friends and family to join them each year for a celebration of life - Cancer Survivors Day.

Please check back for dates and times for the 2012 event.

There is no cost to attend to Cancer Survivors Day. Families and Children are welcome.


The Cancer Program of Chester County is a service of The Chester County Hospital and the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania.

Tyson AwardPictured from left are: Marge Lang, LCSW, OSW-C, Oncology Social Worker; Darcie Goldberg, Executive Director of the Chester County Art Association; and Sharon DeNault, Art Therapist.

2011 Tyson Award

Congratulations to Darcie Goldberg!
Darcie is the Executive Director of the Chester County Art Association (CCAA) and an inspirational woman who has gone above and beyond in her commitment and dedication to finding ways to honor those living with cancer. By giving time and space at CCAA and hosting a weekly art therapy group for patients dealing with cancer, she gave this group the opportunity to not only create, but also to show their healing art work. As a fine arts photographer, Darcie created a fundraising calendar featuring many of the women fighting cancer and included their own words of wisdom. Last year Darcie also made a gallery available for a young and gifted Chester County artist who was suffering from colon cancer, thus giving him a treasured highlight in his short life by being able to have a single solo show of his work before entering hospice. With this endless source of compassion and energy, Darcie worked with Cuddle My Kids, another cancer-related charity. She put on an art bra show that incorporated a gala and a live auction called BRAvo...Art Heals. This further yielded a full color spiral bound date book which was sold for contributions.

Past Recipients

1995 Suzanne DiBussolo
1996 Ed Neidigh
1997 Tim Malloy
1998 Michael Mento
1999 Nancy Fraim
2000 Mirarnda Albrecht
2001 Marge Lang, LCSW, OSW-C & Mary Ruth McClain
2002 Dianne Vaughan & Hugh Bonner, MD
2003 Kym N. Langham
2004 Steven Verngren & Pat Myatt, MSW
2005 Rick Stevenson
2006 Janice Gathercole & Ronnie Porter, RN
2007 Robert Swavely
2008 Cathleen Gabrielsen & Heidi Owen, RN
2009 Sharon DeNault
2010 Linda Luschenat

Tyson Award Nominations
Most of us know someone with cancer. And, many know an individual or organization that has done much to help families, fellow church members, coworkers or others cope with this disease. The Russell R. Tyson Award of Hope was created to honor someone who has contributed to cancer survivorship.

The recipient we are searching for is a Chester County resident or a county organization that has given time, help and/or resources to others as they seek to overcome cancer and look to the future. The recipient is an example of the caring, help and hope that The Cancer Program provides to its patients.

Russell R. Tyson Award Nomination Form

Registration Required: 610.738.2300

Last Updated: 2/15/2012